Which Championship Teams are Promoted to the Premier League 2013

Championship Teams Promoted to EPL

With the 2012-13 nPower Championship season ended there are three teams which are promoted to the Premier League for 2013-14. Two teams are promoted automatically after finishing first and second.

For this year Cardiff City and Hull City won automatic promotion with Cardiff City winning the league. Hull City had to wait for the result between Watford and Leeds United after they drew 2-2 with Cardiff in the final match of the season. It was a highly dramatic match itself with two penalties awarded in stoppage time. Hull City had theirs saved first and was quickly followed by Cardiff City who converted theirs to get the draw.

With Watford losing to Leeds United they became one of four teams to play in the playoff for the final promotion place. Along with them are Brighton, Crystal Palace and Leicester City, with Leicester City earning their place on the last day.

Crystal Palace beat Brighton 2-0 on aggregate in their two playoff matches to advance to the final. Watford beat Leicester City 3-2 on aggregate after some late game dramatics in the second leg. Crystal Palace and Watford meet on May 27 at Wembley for the Championship playoff final.

List of promoted teams for 2013:

Cardiff City – Championship winners

Hull City – second place; automatic promotion

Crystal Palace 1 – 0 Watford at Wembley Stadium – Crystal Palace is the 2013 playoff winner promoted to the Premier League. Check out the Championship Playoff Final Video Highlights.


You can also check out what these teams have done in the 2013 summer transfer window with this List of Summer Transfer by team.

Final 2012-13 Championship Table