How many teams have won the English Premier League?

Premier League Winners

The English Premier League was formed in 1992 to replace the previous Football League First Division. This was done due to the start of a lucrative television rights deal signed by clubs in the top division. This deal has reached new heights with the 2013-14 deal with BSkyB and BT Group worth £3Billion ($4,849,800,000).

The premier league was formed on February 20, 1992 making 2012 the 20th anniversary of the Premier League. This 20th anniversary has been celebrated with several awards given out to various players and managers.

Since 1992 only 5 teams have won the EPL title: Arsenal, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Manchester City, and Manchester United.

Since the inception of the Premier League Manchester United has never finished lower than third. Prior to the start of the Premier League Liverpool had won the Football League First Division 18 times. Since their last title in 1989-90 Liverpool has not won, meaning that they have never won the Premier League title. Liverpool and Manchester United have the most trophies in England (this includes trophies across all competitions) with 41 each.

Arsenal has finished in the top 4 in 17 of the last 20 seasons and has been able to do so in the last 16 Premier League seasons consecutively (since 196/97).